The Court of the District & Sessions Judge, Kamrup, was established in the year 1920. The territorial jurisdiction of the court was extended up to erstwhile Nagaon District in the East and Dhubri District in the West. Mr. A.Merror Esquire, ICS, was the first District & Sessions Judge, Assam valley. After independence, Mr. I.Rashul became the first District & Sessions Judge, Kamrup. Presently, the territorial jurisdiction of the District is extended over Greater Guwahati only. Altogether, the establishment of the District Judge & the Chief Judicial Magistrate comprise of both Civil/Criminal Courts manned by Judicial Officers of various grades. The other courts and offices present in the District & Sessions Judge Court Complex, Kamrup(M) are :

    1. Special Judge, Assam.
    2. Judge, Designated Court(Terrorist And Destructive Activities / TADA), Assam.
    3. Special Judge, NDPS Court.
    4. Office of The District Legal Services Authority, Kamrup(M).

     The various Court Complexes present in the Kamrup Metro District are Family Court Complex(at Ulubari), Industrial Tribunal(at DC Office), Labour Court(at DC Office) , Addl. CBI Court Complex(at Chandmari), Motor Accidents Case (MAC) Tribunal No.-1(at Ulubari), Motor Accidents Case (MAC) Tribunal No.-2 and 3(at Bharalumukh), Chief Judicial Magistrate Court Complex(near DC Office) and Special Railway Magistrate Court Complex(at Paltanbazar).



Site designed ,content maintained & updated: Office of the District & Session Judge, Kamrup (M)
Site hosted by:National Informatic Centre ,Assam State Centre

Disclaimer: Site Viewed in internet explorer on 800X600